November 14, 2019

Inaugural Integra Connect Pharmacy Innovation Award Winners Named

PBA News

Important projects for using electronic health records in rural areas, assessing student readiness for advanced pharmacy practice experience and fighting opioid addiction were chosen for the inaugural Dean’s Award for Faculty Innovation sponsored by Integra Connect.

The award was established as a means of fostering, recognizing and celebrating the innovative spirit of the Lloyd L. Gregory School of Pharmacy faculty. Integra Connect Founder Raj Mantena pledged $550,000 to support faculty research and recognize innovation.

Mantena is a member of the Gregory Leadership Council, the advisory board for the School of Pharmacy that assists Dean Dr. Jeffrey Lewis with planning, programming and funding the Gregory School of Pharmacy. His daughter is enrolled in the pharmacy program.

Nine faculty members piloting three projects were selected as recipients of this year’s innovation award.:

Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experiences-Readiness Assessment Development/Planning – Aimed at improving understanding of, and influence on, the readiness of students for an optimally-productive year in their advanced pharmacy practice experiences:

Mark Bonfiglio
Matt DellaVecchia
Erenie Guirguis
Jay Jackson
Adwoa Nornoo
Mariette Sourial
Electronic Health Records in Uganda Medical Mission – Aimed at improving the patient care process in remote areas without electricity, the innovators created and tested an iPad-based electronic health record during a mission trip to Uganda:

Harm Maarsingh
Laura Rhodes
Mariette Sourial
Impacting Opioid Addiction in Community Pharmacy – Aimed at assessing the feasibility of community pharmacists in effectively identifying and triaging individuals suffering from substance abuse disorders — especially opioids — to addiction treatment experts and opportunities:

Erin Dorval
The recipients were recognized at a “Celebration of Innovation” awards reception last month.

Related Articles

Back to All News