July 14, 2022

Gregory School of Pharmacy Excels at FPA Convention

PBA News

Students and faculty of Palm Beach Atlantic’s Lloyd L. Gregory School of Pharmacy showed their expertise at the annual Florida Pharmacy Association meeting July 6-10 in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, taking home the following scholarships and awards:

— Gregory School of Pharmacy (GSOP) alumna Dr. Laura Rhodes won the Pharmacists Mutual Companies Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award for her efforts with Community Pharmacy Enhanced Services Networks (CPESN) and Flip the Pharmacy, two national initiatives that promote innovation for pharmacy services.

— GSOP students won first, second and third place in the patient counseling competition. Anjali Talwar won first place, Alex Shantiai won second place and Josuah Tilus won third place.

— Alex Shantiai received the Terry Gubbins Student Leadership Scholarship, which honors leadership and professional advocacy.

— Nicole DiMarco received the James B. and Patsey J. Powers Scholarship for her work with student professional organizations.

— In her keynote address, American Pharmacists Association (APhA) President Theresa Tolle spoke positively of GSOP faculty and residents, including Drs. Amy Catherine Baggett, Jessica Bailey, Erin Dorval and Laura Rhodes

— GSOP was the only school whose students and faculty presented posters.

— Five faculty gave continuing education programming at the annual meeting. They are Drs. Erin Dorval, Laura Rhodes, Jordan Sedlacek, Jessica Bailey and Amy Catherine Baggett. Dean Dr. Dana Strachan delivered the Sunday morning message.

Photo: GSOP alumna and faculty member Dr. Laura Rhodes received the Pharmacists Mutual Companies Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award reflecting her efforts with CPESN and Flip the Pharmacy initiatives. Pictured are Drs. Erin Dorval, Amy Catherine Baggett, Laura Rhodes, Jessica Bailey and Theresa Tolle.

Related Articles

Back to All News