The PBA Difference


Women of Distinction

During its annual Women of Distinction luncheon, Palm Beach Atlantic University honors women who cherish community and family and want to preserve these ideals for others. The event is a PBA traditionPalm Beach Altantic Women of Distinction 2017 for more than 25 years, and proceeds from the luncheon benefit a scholarship fund for deserving female students. During the 2019 luncheon, we honored Audrey Gruss and Laurie S. Silvers. 

Women of Distinction 2020 will be held Wednesday, February 19. Click here to join us at The Breakers-Palm Beach.

Recap of Women of Distinction 2019

2019 Honorees

2019 Women of Distinction Honoree Audrey Gruss

Palm Beach resident, Audrey Gruss is president of the Audrey and Martin Gruss Foundation, which she established 30 years ago with her husband, Martin, to support charitable activities in the cultural arts, education and medical research. In operating the foundation, Gruss brings her considerable skills of executive experience in the fields of international marketing and advertising to the non-profit arena. She was the former co-owner and president of Terme di Saturnia, Inc., an international scientific skincare firm, and held executive positions at J.P. Stevens and Elizabeth Arden, as director of advertising and creative services worldwide.

More about the 2019 Honorees


silversLaurie S. Silvers practiced law in South Florida for over 10 years before starting her career as a media entrepreneur. Silvers was the co-founder of the SyFy Channel, of which she served as chief executive officer from January 1988 to March 1992 and co-vice chairman from March 1992 to March 1994. She is the co-CEO of, a leading celebrity news and entertainment information provider. She is also a majority owner of eSports Holdco, LLC, an eSports organization which owns the Misfits and Mayhem teams in the U. S. and Europe. Silvers is an owner of Treasure and Space Coast Broadcasting, which operates six radio stations on Florida’s Treasure Coast

2018-2019 Co-Chairs

For the second year in a row, we are honored to have two former Women of Distinction as co-chairs for the 2019 event, Eileen Burns and Frances Fisher. Click here to read about the co-chairs. 

Learn About Past Honorees