Hooding Ceremony Celebrates Pharmacy Graduates


Gregory Outstanding Graduate Award Abel Carranza approaches the stage to accept his award.

Gregory Outstanding Graduate Award recipient Abel Carranza is applauded by his classmates as he steps up to accept his award. 

One could almost feel the glow Friday night from the Rubin Arena in the Greene Athletic Complex, filled as it was with 62 beaming soon-to-be Palm Beach Atlantic pharmacy graduates alongside their family and friends for the traditional hooding ceremony.

"Your journey has only just begun," Dean Jeff Lewis said during the closing remarks of the ceremony. "As you go forth in your career, just promise us to keep us as part of your journey." 

The hooding ceremony is where graduates formally receive their academic hood pertinent to their profession. 

After taking the oath of a pharmacist, each graduate took the stage and was hooded with their academic attire. 

Pharmacy graduate Jonathan Richardson during the hooding ceremony.

Pharmacy graduate Jonathan Richardson

The ceremony continued with 20 individual awards, including the most prestigious -- the Gregory Outstanding Graduate Award, which went to Abel Carranza. He received a handsome plaque as well as a prize of $10,000. 

The Gregory Outstanding Graduate Award recognizes the graduate in the top 10 percent of the class who has demonstrated a continual devotion to his or her faith and the desire to integrate faith in their practice. The recipient of this award has also show excellence in both health-related and community volunteer projects.

The complete list of award recipients is below.

American Institute of the History of Pharmacy: Sarah Watcheck

American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) Senior Recognition Award: Stephanie Ellis

American Society of Health–System Pharmacists (ASHP) Senior Recognition Award: Jonathan Richardson

Cardinal Health Senior Recognition Award: Natalie Mella

The CVS Health Distinction in Community Practice Award: Sharlynn Gabarda

Facts and Comparisons Award of Excellence in Clinical Communication: Ashley Mooney

Gregory School of Pharmacy Missions Service Award: Chip Wight

Gregory Servant Leader Award: Shara Parrish

Gregory School of Pharmacy Shining Light Award: Patrick Melton

Lilly Achievement Award: Jocelyn Freimuth

Merck Graduate Award: Jennifer Mijares and Kristen de Almeida

Mylan Pharmaceuticals Excellence in Pharmacy Award: Kurt Pessa

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Recognition Award: Adam Remick

National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) Graduate Award: James Williams

The Pharmacy Practice Award: Allison Morris and Viviane Caya-Vandenbroek

Phi Lambda Sigma Leadership Chapter Senior Award: Jocelyn Freimuth and Jonathan Richardson

Publix Community Engagement Award: Stephanie Jones

Rho Chi Academic Achievement Award: Kayla McIntyre

Teva Pharmaceuticals Outstanding Graduate Award: Andrea Mezentsef

Gregory Outstanding Graduate Award: Abel Carranza