Young Alumni Award

The Young Alumni Award recognizes an alumnus who is a graduate of PBA, for less than 10 years, for personal and professional achievement, and for service to Palm Beach Atlantic University or the community. 

2016 RecipientZach Williams Young Alumni Award Palm Beach Atlantic University 2016

Zach Williams '06

Zach Williams, a native of Acworth, Georgia, is lead vocalist of indie-folk trio The Lone Bellow, based in Brooklyn, New York. He graduated from Palm Beach Atlantic University in 2006 with a degree in Christian leadership. During his time at PBA, he was active with the chapel praise band. His career as a songwriter began in 2005 at his wife Stacy’s bedside, as she recovered from an accident in which she was thrown from a horse. The injury left her with temporary paralysis, from which she later recovered. The journal Williams kept during that difficult time inspired many of his songs. When her health improved, the couple, along with a group of friends, moved to New York City to pursue their creative dreams. In 2010 Williams formed The Lone Bellow with singer and guitarist Brian Elmquist and singer Kanene Pipkin. The trio’s self-titled debut album was released in 2013 and was well received, making its way onto several “Best of the Year” lists. The group’s second album, Then Came the Morning, was released in 2015. Later that year, The Lone Bellow toured the U.K. with recording artist Kacey Musgraves, and the trio was nominated for an Americana Music Award for Duo/Group of the Year. Zach and Stacy Williams have four children.


Patrick Mize Recipiet of Palm Beach Atlantic University Young Alumni Award 2014

2014 Recipient 

Patrick Mize '05

2013 Recipient

Gregory Langowski '01/'08



2012 Recipient

John Templeton '02 CPA, CVA



2011 Recipient

Stephanie Malia Kilstein Krauss '04




2009 Recipient

Tenth Avenue North 


2008 Recipient

Elizabeth Eubanks ’04 



2006 Recipient

Angela Price Recker



Past Recipients

2005: Michele Rigby Assad ‘95 and Joseph Assad ‘94
2004: Emin Toro ’97
2003: Steve Scalici ‘95 and Apryl Ellis Scalici ’96
2002: Dr. Renda Knapp '92
2001: Susan Richmond Johnson '95
2000: James Dean '90/ '95 MED
1999: Jeff Charlton '90
1997: Tom Pence '88
1994: Chris Gryskiewicz '88
1993: Jennifer Jolly Rothschild '86
1992: Janie Thomas Fogt '86