Athletes Honored for Christian Values, Leadership

The Palm Beach Atlantic University Athletic Department this week presented 14 annual awards to student-athletes and inducted a record 13 students into the national college athlete honor society. The athletes, who were chosen by the PBA Athletics administration, head coaches and support personnel, were honored during the department’s annual awards night in the Helen K. Persson Recital Hall in Vera Lea Rinker Hall.

PBA Athletic Director Carolyn Stone, center, presents volleyball player Mariela Quesada and men's soccer player Kenny Hogg with the 2011-2012 Female and Male Athlete of the Year Awards. Palm Beach Atlantic University (PBA) is a private, accredited, Christ-centered college located in West Palm Beach, Florida, USA.
PBA Athletic Director Carolyn Stone, center, presents volleyball player Mariela Quesada and men's soccer player Kenny Hogg with the 2011-2012 Athlete of the Year Awards.

Athletic Director Carolyn Stone presented women’s volleyball player Mariela Quesada and men’s soccer player Kenny Hogg as the 2011-2012 PBA Female and Male Athletes of the Year.

Quesada put together one of the most dominant seasons ever by a PBA volleyball player, while Hogg led the NCAA Division II ranks in goals and points per game as a sophomore to earn the prestigious award.

The annual Athletic Director’s Awards went to Jordan Kong of the women’s basketball team and Luke Bolanos of the men’s tennis team. The awards are presented to a female and male student-athlete who exemplified the Christian values on and off the field of competition along with upholding the academic and athletic standards of the PBA athletic department.

Interim President William M.B. Fleming Jr. presented the President’s Award, which highlights academic excellence. This year’s recipients were women’s basketball player Ashley Dolberry and Logan Thomas from the Sailfish baseball team.

Head women’s soccer coach James Kryger presented the Clark Botel Award to Faith Warren from the women’s cross country team and Travis Murray from the baseball team. The award is named after PBA’s first sports information director and given to female and male student-athletes who represent the University with outstanding attitude, leadership and servanthood.

Clarisse Garcia, the Sailfish women’s basketball head coach, presented the Don Harp Award to Natalia Trotter of the women’s tennis team and Matthew Gierl of the men’s basketball team. Both recipients receive a one-year scholarship as part of the endowed award, which honors a rising senior who has excelled in competition and demonstrated outstanding Christian leadership.

Head men’s basketball coach Terry Primm presented the Sailfish Award to Miranda Welch of the softball team and Terrell Terry of men's basketball. The award is given to a student-athlete who bleeds Sailfish “blue and white.”

PBA strength and conditioning coach Ron Kotouch handed out the first Strength and Conditioning Award to volleyball player Mariela Quesada and men's basketball player Ian Sitz. The award puts emphasis on the hard work and dedication of these athletes in improving their physical fitness and skill set.

Associate Athletic Director Chi Ly inducted the new members of the Chi Alpha Sigma, a national student-athlete honor society. The eight returning members of Chi Alpha Sigma were honored with cords to be worn at graduation, while a PBA-record of 13 new members also were inducted with a pin.

National College Athlete Honor Society Class of 2012
Victoria Baca
Matthew Crumb
Alyssa DeMonte
Alejandro DeMoya
Ashley Dolberry
TJ Harbuck
Katherine Harvey
Taylor Kaprive
Jessie Kubiak
Meagan Phillips
Ashley Shoaf
Natalia Trotter
Faith Warren
Returning members
Meghan Gilmore
Jordan Kong
Janeen McCormick
Travis Murray
Katie Runyon
Logan Thomas
Kimberly Traxler
Allie Warren

Visit for the latest news and information on Palm Beach Atlantic University Athletics.

Category Tag(s): 04/2012 General News