Distinguished Alumni

The Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes an alumnus for personal and professional achievement and for bringing honor to Palm Beach Atlantic University. The individual has been a graduate of the University for at least 10 years.

2016 Recipient

Theo Neilly '01

Theo Neilly 2016 Distinguished Alumnus Award Palm Beach Atlantic

Theo J. Neilly is a member of Parliament in The Bahamas, representing Eleuthera. Born in Nassau, he was educated in public schools and is a graduate of Preston Albury High School in Rock Sound, Eleuthera. Neilly double-majored in in biology and political science at Palm Beach Atlantic University. Active in student government, he was the first international student elected student body president his senior year. He was also a Presidential Ambassador. He later completed a master’s degree in business administration from the University of Liverpool, United Kingdom. Since 2006, he has held the position of airport manager of the North Eleuthera International Airport. Previously, he served as superintendent of the Department of Civil Aviation in North Eleuthera. Prior to joining the Civil Aviation Department, Neilly was the assistant manager of Rock House Resort and Restaurants in Harbour Island. Neilly has been an elected member of local government since 2005 and was elected chief councilor of the North Eleuthera District in 2011. A member of the Rotary Club of Eleuthera, Neilly has been an active member of his community and a participant in the Ministry of Tourism BahamaHost program, for which he served as a workshop lecturer. He is vice-president of the North Eleuthera Historical Society and holds membership in The Bahamas National Trust and Amnesty International.


Dr. Steven Donchey 2015 Alumni Distinguished Awar 2015 Palm Beach Atlantic University

2015 Recipient

Dr. Steven Donchey '84

2014 Recipient

Terri Bowers Hunter '94



2014 Recipient

Sasha Rampersad Noe '94



2013 Recipient

Martin Kiar '99




2012 Recipient

Lee Ann DeHass Miller '90




2011 Recipient

Michele Rigby Assad '95



2010 Recipient

Edward Trask '85



2009 Recipient

Scott Whitaker '91



2008 Recipient

Thomas Olliff '84





Past Recipients

2002: Dr. Philip Rothschild ' 85
1995: Dr. R. Wayne Stacey '74
1994: George Thomasson '77
1988: Tony Adams*
1985: Lynn Gibbony Sloan '72*
1984: Bro. Joe Ranieri '76
1979: Dr. Tim Owings '75
1977: Rev. Wayne Padgett '72
1975: Dr. James Renault '72


Note: All time references are based upon the honoree's date of induction.