MacArthur School Outstanding Alumni Award

The MacArthur School Outstanding Alumni Award recognizes an undergraduate or graduate alumna/alumnus from the Catherine T. MacArthur School of Leadership, for their personal and professional achievement and for bringing honor to Palm Beach Atlantic University. The individual has been a graduate of the University for at least five years.

2016 Recipient

Scott Johnson '02

Scott Johnson 2016 Recipient of MSL Distinguished Alumnus Award Palm Beach Atlantic University

Officer Scott L. Johnson joined the Port St. Lucie Police Department in 1994, after graduating from the law enforcement academy. He later served as a police officer with the Town of Juno Beach and the Town of Palm Beach, and in 2003 he returned to work for the Port St. Lucie Police Department. He currently serves the department as a recruiter and high liability instructor, as well as a crisis negotiator with the SWAT team along with many other responsibilities. He serves as one of the department’s firearms and TASER instructors and police motorcycle instructor, and he has overseen the Traffic Unit’s award-winning efforts during the State of Florida’s annual “Click It or Ticket” campaign. He also has been commended for his work negotiating several successful collective bargaining agreements, serving the past eight years as local president of the International Union of Police Associations. Johnson has received several honors and awards, including the Life Saving Award and being named Officer of the Year by the Port St. Lucie Police Department in 2013. In that year, Johnson played a critical role in helping to locate and arrest bank robbery suspects on two separate occasions.  Johnson received a degree in organizational management from PBA’s MacArthur School of Leadership in 2002. He lives in Port St. Lucie with his wife and two daughters.


Elizabeth Cayson MacCarther School Outstanding Alumni Award 2015 Palm Beach Atlantic University

2015 Recipient

Elizabeth Cayson '09
Health Care District of Palm Beach County
Government Relations Specialist



2014 Recipient

Sen. Lizbeth Benaquisto '09
Florida Senate


2013 Recipient

William Hobbs '91
Urban Youth Impact
Executive Director


2011 Recipient

Ivette Miranda '97
Palm Beach Gardens Medical Center
Chief Operating Officer

2010 Recipient

Victoria Chouris '97/'01
South Florida Fair
Vice President/Chief Operating Officer


2009 Recipient

Charlie Adams '90
South Palm Construction


2008 Recipient

Christine Christofek '98
Solid Waste Authority
Director of Public Affairs


2006 Recipient

Michael S. Reiter '96
Michael Reiter and Associates



*Other MacArthur School of Leadership Outstanding Alumni Awardees:

2004: Mary Jo Gregory '94, HRM/96 HRD

2003: Ric  Bradshaw '94, HRM Sheriff, Palm Beach County

*The MacArthur School Award is not an annual award.